Web Content Viewer
Actions
Web Content Viewer
Actions
Businesses/Employers - COVID-19 Checklist

COVID-19 Information and Checklist for Businesses/Employers

Protecting Against COVID-19

Ohio agencies and officials have implemented several policies to help businesses negatively impacted by the COVID-19 epidemic. An extensive list of assistance options, guidance on reopening, and new requirements can be found at Coronavirus.Ohio.Gov/BusinessHelp.  Workers can find assistance options here.

Many of the mandatory requirements put in place in response to the COVID-19 pandemic have been lifted. Businesses have been permitted to reopen, with newly established workplace requirements. General guidance is found below. Specific guidance for certain sectors is available here.

Employers have been ordered to:

  • Comply with state regulations on facial coverings.
  1. Allow customers, visitors, vendors, and other visitors to wear face coverings except for certain documented legal, life, health, safety, or security considerations.
  2. Require all employees to wear face coverings unless they are prohibited by law or regulation; in violation of documented industry standards; not advisable for health reasons; in violation of the business’s documented safety policies; or there is a functional/practical reason not to wear one. They also are not required for employees who work alone in an assigned work area.
  • Comply with social distancing requirements of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and Ohio Department of Health, including, where possible:
  1. Designating 6-foot distances with signage, tape, or other means to allow for adequate social distancing between employees. This also applies to customers in lines.
  2. Having hand sanitizer and sanitizing products readily available for employees and any customers.
  3. Establishing separate operating hours for elderly and other vulnerable populations.
  4. Posting online whether a facility is open and how best to reach the facility and continue services by phone or in another remote manner.
  • Allow as many employees as possible to work from home by implementing policies in areas such as teleworking and video conferencing.

If employees do report to workplaces:

  • Actively encourage sick employees to stay home until they have recovered.

    • As of May 4, guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for people with confirmed or suspected COVID-19 are as follows:                              
      • Employees with symptoms who have not been tested (or are waiting for test results) should stay home until at least three full days (72 hours) have passed since recovery (no fever without use of fever-reducing medications and improvement in respiratory symptoms) AND at least 10 days have passed since the onset of symptoms.
      • Employees with symptoms who have lab-confirmed COVID-19 should stay home until:
        • At least three full days (72 hours) have passed since recovery (no fever without use of fever-reducing medications and improvement in respiratory symptoms) AND at least 10 days have passed since the onset of symptoms.
          OR
        • There is no fever without use of fever-reducing medications AND improvement in respiratory symptoms AND there are negative results (showing no COVID-19) on at least two consecutive lab tests of respiratory specimens collected at least 24 hours apart.
      • Employees with symptoms and a negative lab test for COVID-19 should keep monitoring their symptoms and seek medical advice about staying home and if they need to get tested again.
      • Employees without symptoms who have lab-confirmed COVID-19 should stay home until:
        • At least 10 days have passed since the date of their first positive test. However, if they develop symptoms in that time period, they should revert to the criteria for employees with symptoms (above).
          OR
        • There are negative results (showing no COVID-19) on at least two consecutive lab tests of respiratory specimens collected at least 24 hours apart.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
  • Ensure that your sick leave policies are up to date, flexible, and non-punitive to allow sick employees to stay home to care for themselves, children, or other family members. Consider encouraging employees to do a self-assessment each day to check if they have any COVID-19 symptoms (fever, cough, or shortness of breath).
     
  • Separate employees who appear to have acute respiratory illness symptoms from other employees and send them home immediately. Restrict their access to the business until they have recovered.
     
  • Reinforce key messages — stay home when sick, use cough and sneeze etiquette, and practice hand hygiene — to all employees, and place posters in areas where they are most likely to be seen. Provide protection supplies such as soap and water, hand sanitizer, tissues, and no-touch disposal receptacles for use by employees.
     
  • Frequently perform enhanced environmental cleaning of commonly touched surfaces, such as workstations, countertops, railings, door handles, and doorknobs. Use the cleaning agents that are usually used in these areas and follow the directions on the label. Provide disposable wipes so that commonly used surfaces can be wiped down by employees before each use.
     
  • Be prepared to change business practices if needed to maintain critical operations (e.g., identify alternative suppliers, prioritize customers, or temporarily suspend some of your operations).

Updated June 22,2020

For answers to your COVID-19 questions, call 1-833-4-ASK-ODH (1-833-427-5634).


Your mental health is just as important as your physical health. If you or a loved one are experiencing anxiety related to the coronavirus pandemic, help is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call the COVID-19 CareLine at 1-800-720-9616.


Additional resources:

CDC’s Interim Guidance for Businesses and Employers: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-business-response.html.

COVID-19 Information for Businesses: https://www.tpchd.org/healthy-people/diseases/covid-19-information-for- businesses.


Prevention Infographic


 


Protect yourself and others from COVID-19 by taking these precautions.

  • Stay home except for work or other needs
  • Wear a face covering when going out
  • Practice social distancing of at least 6 feet from others
  • Shop at non-peak hours.
  • Wash hands often with water and soap (20 seconds or longer)
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, mouth with unwashed hands or after touching surfaces
  • Cover your mouth with a tissue or sleeve when coughing or sneezing
  • Clean and disinfect "high-touch" surfaces often
  • Don’t work when sick
  • Call before visiting your doctor


If you have questions regarding Coronavirus/COVID-19 please call 1-833-4-ASK-ODH (1-833-427-5634)


CLEAN ALL "HIGH-TOUCH" SURFACES EVERY DAY

High touch surfaces include counters, tabletops, doorknobs, bathroom fixtures, toilets, phones, keyboards, tablets, and bedside tables. Also, clean any surfaces that may have blood, stool, or body fluids on them. Use a household cleaning spray or wipe according to the label instructions. Labels contain instructions for safe and effective use of the cleaning product including precautions you should take when applying the product, such as wearing gloves and making sure you have good ventilation during use of the product.



Click the "Download" Button to view this resource in PDF format.