
Employees

Customers 
& Guests

•	 Ensure minimum of 6 feet between employees,  
if possible. If not possible, install barriers.

•	 Businesses must require all employees to wear facial 		
coverings, except for one of the following reasons:

•	 	Facial coverings in the work setting are prohibited by  
law or regulation.

•	 	Facial coverings are in violation of documented 
industry standards.

•	 	Facial coverings are not advisable for health reasons.
•	 	Facial coverings are in violation of the business’s 		

documented safety policies.
•	 	Facial coverings are not required when the employee works 

alone in an assigned work area.
•	 	There is a functional (practical) reason for an employee not  

to wear a facial covering in the workplace.
	 (Businesses must provide written justification to local health 		
	 officials, upon request, explaining why an employee is not 
	 required to wear a facial covering in the workplace. At 
	 minimum, facial coverings (masks) should be cloth/fabric 
	 and cover an individual’s nose, mouth, and chin.)
• 	 Strongly encourage as many employees as possible to work  
	 from home.
•	 Employees must perform daily symptom assessment.** 
•	 Require employees to stay home if symptomatic.
•	 Require regular handwashing by employees. 
•	 Place hand sanitizers in high-contact locations.
•	 Clean high-touch items after each use (e.g., carts, baskets, 
	 and other items and equipment).
• 	 Reinforce key messages — stay home when sick, use cough  
	 and sneeze etiquette, and practice hand hygiene — to all  
	 employees, and place posters where they are most likely to  
	 be seen. 
• 	 Provide protection supplies such as soap and water, hand  
	 sanitizer, tissues, and no-touch disposal receptacles for use  
	 by employees.

•	 Ensure minimum 6 feet between customers, when 
possible.

•	 All customers and persons in or on the premise of store must wear  
a facial covering/mask at all times.

•	 Specify hours for at-risk populations, as appropriate (e.g., elderly).
•	 Place hand sanitizers in high-contact locations.
•	 Ask customers and guests not to enter if symptomatic.
•	 Stagger entry of customers and guests.

•	 Use a health questionnaire to check people for symptoms  
	 at entry point.
•	 Provide face coverings upon entry.
•	 Where possible, accept customers by appointment only.
•	 Increase availability for curb-side pickup.
•	 Consider suspending return policies.

•	 Group employees by shift to reduce exposure.

Mandatory Recommended Best Practices

Responsible RestartOhio
Consumer, Retail, Services & Entertainment*

Physical
Spaces

•	 Ensure minimum of 6 feet between people, if  
possible. If not possible, install barriers.

•	 When possible, designate 6-foot distances with signage, tape, 	
	 or by other means.
•	 Post social distancing signage and disinfect high-contact  
	 surfaces hourly. 
	 markers, use alternate registers).
•	 Frequently wash hands with soap and water for at least 20 or 		
	 use hand sanitizer, cover coughs or sneezes, and do not  
	 shake hands.
•	 Clean merchandise before stocking if possible.
•	 Establish maximum capacity.
•	 Comply with all applicable social distancing guidance from 		
	 the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the 		
	 Ohio Department of Health.

•	 Close once a week for deep cleaning.
•	 Add designated markers encouraging customers to  
	 stand 6 feet apart in checkout lines.
•	 Use contact-less payments where possible.
•	 Increase capacity for delivery and curb-side pickup.



*Additional requirements for specific service and entertainment sectors can be found in the Responsible RestartOhio Education and Sector Requirements documents at coronavirus.ohio.gov.
**Per the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, symptoms include fever or chill; cough; shortness of breath or difficulty breathing; fatigue; muscle or body aches; headache; new loss 
of taste or smell; sore throat; congestion or runny nose; nausea or vomiting; and diarrhea. 
***This section does not apply to businesses subject to separate orders for restaurants, bars, banquet and catering facilities and services; hair salons, day spas, nail salons, barber shops,  
tattoo parlors, body piercing locations and tanning facilities; and gyms, dance instruction studios, and other personal fitness venues.
****Printable signage can be found on the Responsible RestartOhio Posters and Signs page at coronavirus.ohio.gov. 
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Mandatory Recommended Best Practices

Confirmed
Cases

Facial Coverings 
in Retail Estab-
lishments*** 

•	 Immediately isolate, separate/send home, and seek medical care for 
any individual who develops symptoms while at work.

•	 Contact the local health district about suspected cases or exposures.
•	 Shutdown shop/floor for deep sanitation if possible.

•	 Retailers – defined as stores, retail businesses, and/or other 
enterprises that sell goods in person to the public – must adhere to 
the following:

•	 Require and ensure that all people on premises wear a facial 		
	 covering at all times (excepting children younger than 10 and 		
	 people medically or developmentally unable to wear one).
•	 Provide reasonable accommodation to any person unable to 		
	 wear a mask by: providing online or telephone ordering and 		
	 curbside, non-contact pick-up or delivery; or allowing a  
	 full-face shield. 
•	 Post “Face Mask Required” signage and signage describing 
	 accommodations for people unable to wear a mask at 
	 all entrances of all retail areas. ****
•	 Post on the retailer’s website, if any, the details of 			
	 accommodating people unable to wear a mask.
•	 Post at all entrances and enforce limited maximum capacity.
•	 Limit and stagger people to assure a minimum of 6 feet of 		
	 physical distance. 
•	 Arrange all store aisles to be directionally one-way if necessary 	
	 for social distancing. 
•	 Designate an on-site masking compliance officer each location 	
	 and shift.
•	 Allow access/inspection during business hours by public health 	
	 or law enforcement representatives 
•	 Provide requested information on masking compliance. 
•	 Cooperate fully in any masking compliance inspection or 		
	 investigation.
•	 If issued a notice of violation retailers must immediately close 	
	 to the public for a period not exceeding 24 hours.  
	 (A warning not requiring closure will be issued for a first 		
	 offense.)

•	 Work with local health department to identify potentially 
infected or exposed individuals to help facilitate effective 
contact tracing/ notifications.

•	 Test all people suspected of being infected or exposed. 
•	 Following testing, contact local health department to 

initiate appropriate care and tracing.


